TOO MANY UNDESIRABLES: LABOR COUNCIL UP IN ARMS ON IMMIGRATION ... The Globe (1844-1936); Jan 3, 1908; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail pg. 9

TOO MANY UNDESIRABLES

LABOR COUNCIL UP IN ARMS ON IMMIGRATION QUESTION.

Unions Were Requested to Collect Documentary Evidence-Mr. John H. Kennedy Was Elected President by Acclamation.

The District Labor Council last night passed a resolution protesting against the very undesirable class of immigrants that it is alleged is now being brought to Canada. The resolution denounced tne Canadian Manufacturers' Association for fostering foreign employment agencies to the detriment of good Canadian workmen. The Council will also apply to the Government for ome of the printed matter respecting immigration, circulated in England, while the delegates were requested to have their respective unions collect documentary evidence of immigration by unfair means.

Mr. John H. Kennedy was re-elected President of the Council by acclamation.

The other offices filled by acclamation were:--Pinaucial Secretary, James Ralph; Sergeant-at-Arms, John Richard-son; Outside Tyler, Wm. Vietchie; Organization Committee, Messra, J. E. Stewart, Wm. Glockling, John McGreev-ey, E. A. Drury and W. T. Thompson. The nominations for the remaining

offices of the Council, to be filled at the next meeting, resulted as follows:-

Vice-President, John Gardner Fred Bush.

Corresponding Secretary, W. J. Hevey

and E. Doudict. Treasurer, I. H. Saunderson, J. E. Stewart and W. L. Auger.

Stewart and W. L. Auger. Trustees, three to be elected-Joseph McCarthy, Wm. Glockling, R. H. Cox, E. A. Drury, Wm. Steep. - Auditors, three to be elected. John Corcoran, H. Rawlinson, W. T. Thomp-son, H. J. McGuillan and W. Wooton. Educational Committee fixe to be

Educational Committee, five to be elected, E. Doudiet, Fred Simpson, J. Brown, W. T. John Stevens and J. Ford. Bush, Jas. Thompson,

Legislative Committee, five to be elected. John Gardner, Wm. Glockling, L. H. Gibbons, John Richardson, Fred Bush. John Corcoran, Arthur Callow, Joseph Gibbons,

Municipal Committee, five to be elected, Wm. Glockling, James Simpson, Arthur Callow, J. E. Stowart, W. L. Anger, John Riebardson, W. E. Wooton, J. Ralph, L. H. Gibbons, Joseph Gibbons, John Gardner.

Reproduced with permission of the copyright owner. Further reproduction prohibited without permission.